The Red Kitchen

Wow! December! Only 10 days to see whether the Mayans knew what they were talking about or not. But then again, Marty McFly visited the year 2015. So I don’t know Mayan guys.  I guess we’ll see. Meanwhile, I thought I’d stop by and say Hello to everyone. How was everyone’s Thanksgiving? I can still talk about thanksgiving, right? After all, it’s only been what? Two weeks? Ok, but I thought it is still apropos to share the many things I have been very blessed to receive- the many miracles happening in my family’s lives, joy, healthy body, sound mind, strong spirit. And recently, I just added lunch lady/delivery girl extraordinaire to my extensive resume. Yes, I opened The Red Kitchen.

Untitled-2

If you know me well or if not, just take a look around my blog and you’ll see how much I love cooking. I love the momentary departure from the real world the kitchen gives me. You know, when I’m cooking- whisking my worries away and… ok..not really good with euphemisms but you get the point. And recently, I have decided (with divine intervention) to extend my kitchen to other food lovers out there and I couldn’t be more ecstatic how well they received it. Thank God. You couldn’t imagine the emotions I was going through that day I delivered the food to my friend’s company. The anticipation and second guessing and everything in between. After all, I have never received unbiased opinion about my culinary abilities. The feedbacks I get from anyone not related to me by affinity? Also questionable because they get their food for free. So back to that week I delivered food, a few minutes later from dropping off the goods, I received a text from my friend (my inside guy/divine connection/marketing executive). I remember tearing up. “Ate (big sister), this is really good, everybody liked it.” It was the herbed chicken on citrus infused rice with roasted carrots and a bowl of grapefruit-arugula salad with homemade dressing. I felt like the happiest person right at that moment. If anyone had seen me while I was driving that afternoon, they might think I needed psychiatric attention or at least some zanax. Anyway, it wasn’t a tall order. Initially, only 6 people ordered from her office. But You can’t buy chicken for only 6 people. So I made the entire inventory and it came up to 9 plates. All sold out with excellent reviews. I still can’t wrap my head around the idea that people are willing to pay for my food. I’m not raking in huge amounts of money. At least not yet. But I never thought it’s possible. (I even got tips).

Untitled-1

I don’t think I have ever been so passionate about something. I thought it was photography but that was just a phase. I still love it. But when I cook, it’s different. Everything else turns into a blur. I pour all my heart out (and then some)when I prepare food. I am so thankful to finally find something I care about so much. It took a while. And I am thankful that I came around. I am also grateful for guidance. I don’t think it would’ve turned out the awesome way it did if not for God. You see, when you constantly seek divine will, God will show it to you. I guess that’s another post altogether. But it’s perfect. And yes, it’s been 3 weeks since the first order I received but I am still as excited as I was that day I received that text. Am I expecting more? Yes! And I am also thankful that I am confident I can expect more. Just last week, my order from that same place increased to 12 and have expanded my market when I decided to walk in to a car shop and sell 3 extra plates. It was pulled pork on sweet potatoes. Everyone loved it. One lady even said that she doesn’t need to be asked if she was ordering or not. If I’m cooking, she’s an automatic count. Wow! Whenever my friend comes home from work, she tells me h0w her co-workers loved the food and they notice all the love I put in- how I pack the food, etc.

Well, to quote a friend who quoted some cliche that day I told him about this gig, “when you love what you do, you don’t have to work a day in your life!” And he couldn’t be any more spot on.

And to end this, let me leave you with some pictures of my grateful family during Tahnksgiving. God bless, everyone! Let’s all expect great things from our great God.

1432

3 thoughts on “The Red Kitchen

  1. Janis! Nakakainis ka, muntik na ako maiyak! I am so happy for you. Congratulations on your new (and apparently thriving) The Red Kitchen. (Do you still need a ‘goodluck’? Seems not. ;)) But really, WAY TO GO. Cooking is what you’re passionate about and now you’re starting to make a living off it. Galeng!
    Love the name and I’m sure the food is so gooood. 🙂

    • Thanks, Tita Buds. That was truly heart warming. nd yes, I stillneed good luck from time to time And even still more to learn. I had to take a break during the holidays But I closes the yeat on a pretty high note with ”bowl”ritos And was able to get 19plates out Of thisreally small kitchen.it’s bringing in revenue bt not enough to make a living yet But im exxited to see what will become Of trk. Im still troubled that i have o o back to School amd it might have to take a back seat. But we”ll see wjere the Lord takes me. Thanks so much again! happy mew year!

Leave a comment