Food: Chicken Sisig

I couldn’t think of anything else as Pinoy as Sisig. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me. To me, Sisig is a Pinoy food royalty. It was probably because it was never served at my home when I was growing up. I haven’t even heard of it until a neighbor who moved from Pampanga said her mom made Sisig. I was like “What?” She explained and I forgot about everything she said two seconds later.

Then I grew older and learned to drink beer. Then my beer drinking led to drinking out with friends in bars. Yes, bars in the Philippines serve actual food in case some of you are wondering. Then some friends ordered sisig. I didn’t think much of it. I couldn’t even remember how I started liking it. All I know is that now, I love it and I have been craving for it and that whenever there’s a Pinoy gathering here, it’s the first thing I put on my plate.

So last Friday, I was thinking of what to do with the ground chicken that’s been sitting in the fridge for about a week now. I’m trying to think of something that wouldn’t require a trip to the store. So basically, everything that’s already in my pantry. Then, I don’t know what it was that made me look for a Sisig recipe. I was shocked. SHOCKED by the simplicity of the ingredients. I mean you know, after the pig ears, jowls and brain. But ingredients that you wouldn’t suspect that would be in such a delectable dish as this. Vinegar, soy sauce, calamansi and onions. That’s it. I was like is this for real? Well there’s only one way to find out. If it turns out to be anything but the sisig I so loved, then I’ll just charge it to experience and the chicken that sacrificed its life for a silly experiment.

To my suprise, it was sisig indeed. I mean not the traditional Sisig but it sure tasted like the Sisig I remember and that works for me.

This recipe is adapted from Panlasang Pinoy.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground chicken
  • 1- 1 1/2 cups white vinegar
  • 1/2 soy sauce
  • 5 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 large or 2 medium red onions, chopped
  • Chili
  • S&P to taste
  • cooking oil

Here’s how:

  1. In a skillet over medium heat, pour some oil and allow to warm up. Place ground chicken and allow to cook. Discard broth if there’s any.
  2. Once chicken is cooked all the way through, add vinegar, soy sauce and lemon juice in increments until you reach desired flavor.
  3. Throw in chopped onions and chili. Cook until the onions are just about translucent.
  4. Serve with piping hot steamed white rice or ice cold beer.

There’s a variety of how this is served. The most famous is on a sizzling cast-iron plate. Some people cook it in or top it with mayo. Some put chicharon. I like this option. Personally, i like mine with lots of onions and citrus because it cuts the grease.

This is what sisig looks like and I wasn’t kidding about the pig’s ears, jowls and brain. That’s what traditional sisig is. They boil the face to remove the hair then they grill it. Then they chop it up and fry it in oil before they add vinegar, soy sauce and onion. It may sound gross, but it tastes really amazing.

 

2 thoughts on “Food: Chicken Sisig

Leave a Reply

