Bright and Yellow, Humble Pie-o

Sun’s here! We’ve recently just been hit by a mild winter storm smack dab in the middle of spring. But then again, this is Rochester, NY. While we celebrated that streak of warm, sunny days in March and first couple of weeks in April when it was supposed to be snowing, we all kind of knew deep inside that it was too good to be true, taking every last strength not to say the obvious because no one wants to be the one to jinx our good luck weather wise. But just like any other Rochester spring, snow came back our way. I looked out my bedroom window after I got up that Monday morning and there it was, a sea of green and white on the ground, mostly white. “Baby, no extra 10 minutes of sleepy time. It’s time to get up. It’s snowing outside!” This past week, I have seen it snow, rain, snow and rain-snow power combo in a span of 5 hours. The sun would let out its rays for about two seconds then it would start the snow-rain-snow number again. It seemed as if the weather didn’t know what to do with itself so it poured all types of precipitation probably just to show off. Needless to say, I wasn’t impressed.

But, sun’s here! Honestly, I don’t know how long it’s going to stay all shiny and bright. I’ve heard that Rochester’s experienced snow in June! But I’m embracing the warm fuzzy feeling this lovely weather gives me. I feel like a teddy bear just hugged me. More reason to celebrate is that my sister’s in town! It’s her birthday weekend so there’s an excuse for spending a lot of time in the kitchen which by itself, makes me feel like a teddy bear just hugged me.

I literally spent the whole morning working in the kitchen. Remember the mango tart I have been itching to try since I got my bright and yellow baking dishes? Well, I was finally able to make them today. My sister even brought some mangoes she had from home afraid that they might spoil while she’s away. Wow! That’s perfect! It’s as if destiny’s telling me to make mango tart this weekend. I guess it’s safe to say this is my own recipe. I have read and watched one too many mango tart recipes and videos that they all got mixed up in my head. So I just did what I thought made sense, got some bits and pieces from here and there and voila! It was ok. I wouldn’t say it was great but it was decently good. I must admit that this may need some tweaking, though. It tastes good but Β there’s this je ne sais quoi that makes it a little off. Maybe something to tie the custard flavor and mango together? I don’t know. Or maybe just forget about the custard altogether.

Image

Mango Tart

Ingredients:

For the pie crust

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose four
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and cold
  • 5-10 tbsp. ice water
  • 1 tsp. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt

For the filling

  • 1 1/2 ripe mango, peeled and thinly sliced
  • custard*
*For the custard
  • 1 cup milk (I used 2% and it was incredibly light)
  • 2 large egg yolks and 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sugar or more to taste
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Here’s how:

For the pie crust

  1. In a food processor, add flour, sugar and salt and pulse until well incorporated. Add butter and pulse until it is homogenous with the flour mixture.
  2. Remove the food pusher off the lid and process butter-flour mixture on low while adding ice water 1 tablespoon at a time. Check the consistency of the dough after the third spoon. Pinch a lump in your finger and if it is doughy, it’s done, otherwise, cover the food processor bowl and repeat the process only this time check after every spoon.
  3. On a clean surface, dump the dough out and press the heel of your palm and smear on the surface. Repeat a couple more times then gather up the dough into a ball.
  4. Split the dough into 2 and makes discs. Plastic wrap then refrigerate for at least an hour.
**This recipe is enough for a 9-inch pie or 2 9-inch pies if you wish to leave your pie open. I only used one disc since my dishes are small and I was making tarts so I didn’t need to cover them with another sheet of dough.

**Make sure the butter is cold. After cutting the butter into pieces, place it in the freezer for about 15 minutes before using it.

**Try your hardest not to knead the dough to avoid making it too tough and to make sure it’s got that flaky consistency.

For the custard:

  1. In a medium saucepan, scald milk. Meanwhile, whisk egg and yolks in a mixing bowl. Add sugar and whisk thoroughly until mixture is a lighter shade of yellow and reaches a frothy texture.
  2. Once the milk is done, pour about 1/4 of it into the egg mixture to scald it and whisk briskly then pour the entire content of bowl back into the sauce pan with the rest of the milk. Whisk continuously until you reach nappe consistency.
  3. Remove from heat, add vanilla and whisk some more. You can strain the custard if you wish and then place in a water bath to stop the cooking process.

**I really though that the ice water bath was unnecessary until my custard was almost one lumpy concoction when I was about to pour it into my pie dish. So this is a vital step.

**Whisking eggs and sugar is harder than it looks. My right arm still hurts after that mean whisking I did this morning.

To build the pie:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Roll out your dough to a thin sheet. Cut it out to the size of your pie dish leaving enough for overhang.
  3. Butter your dish then carefully place the pie dough.
  4. Pour in custard, about a 1/4 inch in depth then top with sliced mangoes. Fold over hang on top of the mangoes.
  5. Brush dough with egg wash or milk and sprinkle with sugar.
  6. Bake tarts for about 35-45 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.

Image

My pie crust didn’t turn out quite well. My sister said it tasted like flour? It kind of did at first. I was also thinking that maybe, I should have baked the crust before pouring the custard. My crust soaked up all the custard which left a mildly squishy bottom crust. I really didn’t mind it but some people can be very particular with textures (yeah, like Iron chef judges?) We still enjoyed it, nonetheless.

Rewind to friday night, I was so upset that I didn’t take a picture of that soup I made. I promise to share the recipe with you soon. It is my fool-proof chicken-noodle soup recipe which I originally used to make with my homemade turkey meatballs. But Friday night was insane. Between running to the store straight from work, then coming home to clean the house and preparing a meal for me, my Unakin and sister, it was one hell of an crazy ending to an already crazy week. And all that I did in 2 1/2 hours. And….fast forward to Saturday again, for lunch, I cooked my sister that infamous Linguine in White Wine Clam Sauce. (I say infamous because it brought traffic to my blog after being the only picture tastespotting.com had approved.) I can’t gamble lunch, too. I already risked too much making the mango tart.

ImageImage

It was fun. It was so much fun we decided to scratch going to the movies and just stay home. Maybe we’ll have better luck tomorrow, if we’re not too lazy.

All in all, it is a wonderful weekend. The nice weather, my sister’s birthday and my 5-yo driving me bonkers in my kitchen. I feel very blessed and extremely thankful.

Image

11 thoughts on “Bright and Yellow, Humble Pie-o

    • thanks. i really apreciar e the nice compliments. this recipe still needs a lot of work,, though. at least it looks good. not that it tasted horrible. i just jeeded something to tie the flavors togeyher.

      and you havnt seen a mango pie? then you’d be blown away by thie coconut pie made back in ky homeland, philippines.

    • I would love to believe I am. :p And I really wish I could magically send you the pie/tart (whatever) so you can correct the crust and send it back to me, perfect golden brown pastry encasing succulent mangoes and maybe some treats from your side of town, too. If only… Have a great week ahead!πŸ™‚

    • haha… thanks! I didn’t tweet about it most especially after being declined only too many times. I am still trying to figure out the Tastespotting quirks and pet peeves. This dish actually is the 2nd and last to make it to tastestpotting. It’s like the american idol of food blogging. i think. But it’s ok. I make it as a motivation to work on my food photography skills.
      πŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: Get Mango Madness with these Fruity Desserts | Yummly

Leave a Reply

