Wannabe Fancy Truffles

Let me just say this, a 5-year-old in your kitchen while trying to achieve what’s supposed to be a decadent delight, not a good idea. If you’re trying to achieve something that takes finesse and sophistication, never have a child help you in the kitchen. Add that to your already limited artistic kitchen skill, it wouldn’t hurt to expect the worst. So this afternoon, after promising my daughter that we’d make a really yummy treat together, I shook all my obsessive-compulsiveness out, took a deep breath and gave a here-goes-nothing shrug. It all worked out.

Three ingredients to make this dessert; 1 cup of cream cheese (Philadelphia please and not fat free or reduced fat), 1 pack of Oreos (regular, not reduced fat or double stuffed, I’m thinking mint would work well, too) and 1/2 pound of dark chocolate (if you can afford the expensive kind, by all means, indulge)

Here’s how:

  1. Place the whole pack of Oreos in food processor and crush finely. You can take it out after to see if there are huge chunks of cookies left.
  2. Add a cup of cream cheese (1 pack) and process until Oreos and cream cheese are homogenous and pasty.
  3. Transfer mixture to a bowl and ball to desired size. Place the oreo-cream cheese balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Chill for about 45 minutes.
  4. In a double broiler, melt dark chocolate. Dip oreo-creamcheese balls to coat. You can use a fork or a spoon to fish the ball out of the melted chocolate. Tap out any excess chocolate and place it back on the lined baking sheet. Chill once all are done and coated.

Easy peasy, right? The first time I made this was a disaster. My infantile patience and lack of kitchen equipment didn’t help. First of all, I used a baby food processor to crush the Oreos and that was just cumbersome to make it in batches. And after I balled the Oreos and cream cheese I didn’t even wait until it’s chilled when I dipped it in burnt chocolate. I didn’t have a double broiler. Yes, I melted the chocolate in a pot under direct heat. Not a good idea. Folks, don’t do this. Someone told me about microwaving the chocolate in 10 second increments. While it sounds good, I don’t want to temp fate. But I learned my lesson. If anything, I just need to practice neatly coating these babies with chocolate. But this is a very simple dessert and I’m sure everyone can have fun making it.

My Chocolate Mess.

PS.

I almost forgot to tell you how much fun Una and I had making these simple yet delicious truffles. My being a control freak tried to ruin it but I managed to keep it at bay. A fun photo shoot followed shortly after while waiting for the balls to harden. I hope you guys like this post and if you ever venture on trying it out, please let me know.

6 thoughts on “Wannabe Fancy Truffles

  1. Oh my this looks so professional and sinfully good! With my own helpful 5-year old in the kitchen, I’m sure any attempt to arrive anywhere near the same results will be a miracle of sorts!😀 Good job you two lovely ladies!

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. I really appreciate it.🙂 I visited your blog and you are really good with words. I hope you have a nice rest of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

