Thanksgiving: A preview

So, I decided to lay out the serving dishes today to see how I can cramp all the place settings and prettify everything in my tiny, hand-me-down dinette. As it turns out, it’s completely not feasible. There’s no room for individual plates on the table. The dining table is purely for buffet. I’m somewhat thankful I didn’t go crazy shopping for dinner sets complete with salad plates and soup bowls. Whew! Saved me a bunch of money because from what it seems, we’ll all be dining in the living area, Pinoy party style! yeah!

Buffet arrangement #1. I guess everyone knows what goes on the huge oval plate.

What’s for Thanksgiving dinner anyway? We’re going to start with (or maybe not) with a heaping cran-walnut fall salad and squash soup. Then for the main event, mr/ (or Mrs.) Turkey roasted provencal style and balsamic glazed ham. They shall be accompanied with apple-currant stuffing, braised potatoes & carrots, roasted brussel sprouts topped w/ caramelized shallots and twice-baked sweet potatoes, cranberry relish and turkey stock gravy (from scratch!).

I’m excited. I can’t wait to log insane hours in my shoebox kitchen. Yes, I may have to make a couple of entrees a day ahead because it’s just not possible for me to make everything the day of.

Accent

My budget for extras such as decorations is really limited so I have to be creative and veer off of the usual fall palette-orange, red, green. I used meyers lemons, which is one of the ingredients in a couple of dishes. I might have to buy more. Fall harvest is overrated anyway, so my makeshift paisley table runner and lemons in a trifle dish would make for a pretty Thanksgiving buffet accent. Or so I think.

But, I can’t wait. And I can’t wait to see my family and cook for them. Now, if only I could book a hotel for them. Right!

 

6 thoughts on “Thanksgiving: A preview

  1. Your description of what you’ll serve is drool-worthy. (Buti na lang I’m eating Piattos at the moment, haha).

    When you ‘slave away’ in the kitchen, does the Unakin watch-and-learn?

    • No, she’s off limits! haha… the only time I let her help is when I bake. But I guess she’s ok with that, too. She’s terrified of fire (traumatized from hibachi dinners) and takes off every time she hears the oil pop and spatter.

Leave a Reply

