Basil-spinach Pesto

Ingredients:

  • Spinach (about 2-3 cups, packed)
  • Basil (10 leaves or more)
  • 1/2 cup grated parmigiano-reggiano
  • 1/2 Pine nuts, roasted (I used walnuts in this recipe)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 gloves of garlic
  • S & P to taste
  • Bucatini or any pasta of your choice (had to use tortellini, it was the only one left in my pantry)
Here’s how:
  1. Cook pasta according to the instructions on pasta box.
  2. Meanwhile, combine all ingredients in a food processor and a drizzle of olive oil.
  3. Pulse ingredients together then puree while adding a stream of olive oil as you go. Puree until you reach a homogenous mixture.
  4. Add S & P to taste and pulse for a couple more seconds.
  5. In a separate pan, place pasta. Cook over low heat and pour pesto sauce. Mix until all the noodles are coated.
*You can use any pasta of your choice but since this is not a full bodied sauce, you might want to stick to the ones with more surface area for the sauce to adhere to. Fetuccine works well. This is just a suggestion, like what I said, feel free to use any pasta you want.
*When you are ready to eat, drizzle a little truffle oil. It adds character and intensifies the flavor from the pine nuts.
Sunday lunch.

10 thoughts on “Basil-spinach Pesto

    • I don’t have crostinis or melbas to eat it with so I toasted a sandwich bread with garlic powder and butter. It worked. Speaking of sandwiches, my favorite one actually has pesto sauce in it and grilled tomatoes, eggplants, salami and mozzarella cheese. The place I always order it from back in my country named it sandwich a la carlo. I still have a bag of pesto left in the freezer and might actually try making it. hmmm…

  1. This is like our basic recipe for pesto but with spinach. Easy but flavorful. Pesto is one of the best pasta sauces around but I know several people who can’t ‘get’ into it. A friend says green pasta looks like something only aliens eat, hehe.

    • Yes, it is. I love basil but I need to mute it out with with a little spinach. It also helps as a filler since basil can be quite pricey. I want to try to make tomato pesto like the one my sister brought from Italy. I’m looking for recipes.

      My daughter said they look like worms. I tried Green Eggs and Ham as a reference to encourage her to try it but it didn’t work. hehe

Leave a Reply

