Here’s What’s Up

I’m not sure how exciting this line-up is but I am thrilled about it nonetheless. I would also like to apologize in advance if I settle with the following Blackberry shots. I always forget to charge the battery for my D80 and when I do remember, it’s going to be hard catching natural, ambient lighting since the days are getting shorter and I don’t get home till late. I am still trying to save up for faster lenses with more forgiving apertures. I know it sounds lame, but that’s my excuse.

Here’s a preview of what’s going to be cooking this month.

Β Ribs! You can’t go wrong with ribs. I know summer’s over but I won’t be grilling this outdoors anyway and I will be pairing this with a fall staple, sweet potato. I’ll get into the recipe later on this month. Once again, this is just a preview.

This is my bag of leftover summer. That’s spinach-walnut pesto in there. I make a batch and divide them into smaller bags as my instant food for nights that I refuse to work in the kitchen after a grueling day at work. I know there’s nothing instant about it most especially when you work with a baby food processor and do everything in batches. But at the beginning of every month, I prepare and cook a dish and freeze it so I can just throw them in the microwave when I come home from work. I may need to boil some pasta or steam some rice but that’s nothing compared to whipping up a meal from scratch. A lot of you may disagree with my method but it works for me. Don’t worry about the freshness, the flavor stays the same if not intensified if you store your food well.

Who can guess what I’m cooking? This is my “mise en place” for Ginataang Pinakbet (Sauted vegetables in coconut milk). This, too was cooked the same time I did the pesto sauce. I already had some of the vegetables paired with Barrio Fiesta Bagoong (shrimp paste). When I cook a dish that requires a lot of dicing, cutting and missed primetime TV, I make a huge batch to make it worth it. I rarely slave in the kitchen just so I can eat food that only lasts a second. I usually eat this with “dinaing na tilapia” (cured(?) tilapia). The Pinoy community here is not as populous as it is in NYC, NJ or CA so it’s close to impossible finding traditional pinoy grub such as daing. And I address that by channeling the 4th-grade, home-ec nerdox in me and cure my own fish. It’s really simple. Too bad I forgot to get some fish the last tie I went to the groceries. oh well.

So there you go. I think that’s it for now.πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Here’s What’s Up

  1. I agree, you can’t go wrong with ribs, my family loves them. Good for you freezing pesto for later. I can never seem to get a system going that works for me. That would make life so much simpler!

    • Thank you!πŸ™‚ Although pre-preparing food requires logging hours and hours of kitchen time, but it’s all worth it. Most especially when friends decide to come over unannounced and I’m not stuck making instant out-of-the-box meals.

      I hope you’re enjoying fall as much as I am.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

