Robert Mondavi Mussels

I have a bottle of sparkling wine sitting around for about a month now. I wanted to try out some summer spritzer I found online but never got around it after my first failed attempt. Yes, I am easily discouraged. Now I’m desperate to use it and then light bulb moment! Mussels! I planned on cooking this really simple Italian recipe and I thought mussels would be perfect to go with it. And it was. The sparkling wine worked well, too. It was different from my usual Sprite-ginger brine but it was good. It cuts the sweetness from the mussels though so the flavor doesn’t linger and resonate in your mouth as much as if you use sprite and ginger or beer or gin and sprite and ginger. Maybe because the wine was dry. So yeah. Maybe, if it had been a sweeter variety, it would be a fiesta in your mouth. But why spend $6 for a bottle you will just drown your seafood with. Sprite will suffice. But I found a good use to my sparkling wine, though.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs. Mussels
  • Ginger (about a cup, julienned)
  • 750 ml sparkling wine (preferably sweet)
  • 2 tbsp. Lemon (optional)
  • Salt to taste
Here’s how:
  1. Shuck the mussels, scrubbing them thoroughly, then rinse.
  2. Over medium heat, pour sparkling wine in a pot, throw in ginger and the mussels.
  3. Cook over medium heat, covered. Wait until it boils and then stir mussels to cook evenly. Cover and cook for another 15 minutes or when all shells are open.
  4. Squeeze lemon over cooked mussels.

3 thoughts on “Robert Mondavi Mussels

  1. Pingback: Dinner & 2 Movies «

    • thank you! I’ve seen a lot of people use alcohol to cook this, even flambe it in a skillet with a clear liquor, so i figured, how different is champagne althouh more delicate than the more tired and famously used robust options…(vodka)

Leave a Reply

