On Photography: The Analog Era

This morning, I tweeted this.

“Dark room.hmm..1st, master d art of composing compelling images.that,I admittedly lack.nxt challenge:straightforward no-crop,spot-on shots.”

Because I want to have my own dark room one day. You know, how photographers before the advent of digital and filmless cameras developed pictures? But along with that little thought was the goal to be able to thoughtfully process a subject, a scene, a moment, a memory before I snap that trigger. I have noticed that most of my “photography” happens once I get home and connect that USB onto my computer and upload the pictures which in reality were nothing but just snapshots, lacking depth, emotion and character. Then I crop and do some treatment as a half-hearted attempt at owning a shot. I want to steer away from that trend. I want to catch that fleeting moment and together with the photo capture the emotion I felt that second I triggered.

Then, shortly after tweeting, I wnt trolling one of my favorite blogs, http://fromme-toyou.tumblr.com and found this quote:

These days, we love our digital cameras. They give us the freedom to explore photography as never before. We get instant feedback on our photographic experiments and find out what works and what doesn’t; we can easily manipulate the results and correct our blunders; and to ensure we don’t miss a shot, we shoot all the pictures our memory cards will hold. When we are done, we pack our hard drives with gigabytes of images and flood the web with our work.
But this ease of use and surfeit of images comes with a price. In the analog era, when we had to pay to see what we shot, we were more careful when we took photographs. This forced a discipline that is hard to imagine today. In the words of Stephen Shore, “[Today] there seems to be a greater freedom and lack of restraint…as one considers one’s pictures less, one produces fewer truly considered pictures.”

This is exactly how I feel about how I approach my so-called “photography” when all it was was just shooting aimlessly just to have something to post on my page. How disappointing. Now, I really want to mature, not only in technique but also to bring life to the pictures I took.

Leave a Reply

