Ribs!

I have always been intimidated by grilling and I have always thought it to be “a guy’s thing” How can something so simple be so daunting? I’ve often found grilling a little too temperamental. It’s not about the seasoning and making it tasty. It’s about mastering the grill itself. Sometimes, the meat looks awesome on the outside only to find out it is still raw in the inside. But on my brother’s birthday, I went ahead and paddled on unchartered waters. I said if it fails, I have the fish and the steak to serve. So no worries. I couldn’t even turn the grill on, for crying out loud! (And when I finally did, I forgot to shut the propane tank and didn’t remember until after a week of leaving my mom’s house in NJ and back here in Rochester.)

So anyway, it turned out to be the best dish that night. I was so happy how it turned out. Now I can’t stop dreaming of having my own monster grill. I am currently renting an apartment so there’s no way that’s going to happen. So I’m currently on the lookout for the perfect stove-top grill.

I was so preoccupied expecting the ribs to suck and perfecting all the other dishes that turned out to be an epic fail due to some minor bumps and setbacks that I completely forgot to take a picture of the ribs. Here’s the closest thing I got.

My new found friend

  • a full slab of ribs
  • Jack Daniel’s Honey Smokehouse BBQ sauce
  • minced garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • brown sugar
  • lemon or orange juice
You will need:
  • Aluminum foil
  • brush
  • tongs
Here’s how:
  1. Preheat oven to 275 F.
  2. Clean and pat dry slab of ribs. Season with salt and pepper. Rub minced garlic all over meat. Then coat generously with Jack Daniels BBQ sauce. Squeeze some lemon or orange juice. Wrap the meat in foil and place in oven to slow cook for about 2-3 hours.
  3. Crank up heat on the grill. Remove meat from the oven and unwrap. Place the meat on the grill. Brush the ribs with the drippings left on the foil. Cover the grill. Flip the ribs after about 10 minutes. Repeat the process on the opposite side. Once the ribs start to get dark and char, sprinkle brown sugar and brush more Jack Daniels bbq sauce. Grill until the sugar caramelizes into a glaze and chars, flip the ribs and repeat the same process.
  4. Serve and enjoy (and don’t forget to shut the propane tank this time.)

Francis cutting up the ribs.

All photos courtesy of Maite and Francis Alcantara.

Leave a Reply

