Pan-seared Strip Steak

This was from my sister's birthday dinner/Easter.

This is my favorite recipe by far. I am partial to it because it is my first original recipe that was spot on the very first time I cooked it. And of course, quick and easy. It all started when a friend invited herself over for dinner. I get off of work at 4:00 and dinner’s at 7pm. That was only a 3-hour window for a 25-minute drive to the store to get the ingredients, 5-minute drive back home, arrive home and regroup and tend to a 4-yo and cook. But I was able to do all that is still had time to spare. The trip to the grocers would have been quicker if I had known what to prepare from the get-go. But inspiration donned on me as soon as I walked in the produce section and saw asparagus. And that was how this recipe came about. The rosemary and garlic combination was just  a lucky guess. I love garlic, and I have cooked with rosemary once to season lamb chops.

Ingredients:

  • Strip steak (tenderloin, I would suggest Wagyu beef if you can afford it)
  • Rosemary ( chopped)
  • Garlic (minced)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Olive oil
  • butter
You will need:
  • medium or large skillet
  • baking/cookie sheet
  • tongs
  • foil
Here’s how:
  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 f.
  2. Chop rosemary and garlic together. (I would like to believe this makes the flavor more homogenous. But then again it probably doesn’t)
  3. Season both sides of the meat with salt and pepper. Rub the rosemary and garlic on the meat. Then rub butter. (If you wish to mix garlic and rosemary with softened butter, you may do so)
  4. Drizzle olive oil on skillet over medium high heat. Once the pan is hot, place meat and sear for 2 minutes (or depending on desired doneness)
  5. Place seared meat on baking sheet. If you wish to serve more fillets, you can tent the meat before putting it in the oven.
  6. Place tray in the oven and finish cooking for about 2-3 minutes per side.
  7. take the meat out of the oven and allow the meat to rest.
Wine pairing:
The first time I made this the only bottle I had left was a bottle of Moscato and it worked pretty well. For the more old school conservative and serious wine drinkers, try the Hunter’s Red red wine by Hunter Vineyards, really good wine.

Leave a Reply

