Grilled Lime-butter Salmon w/ Sesame Asparagus

Three words: Quick. Easy. Delicious! That’s all you need to tell me and I’m sold. I am a lover of good food. But I’m quick to turn my head as soon as they start narrating the intricacy in all the chopping and blending and other complicated stuff one needs to go through to achieve something that will be scarfed down in less than 7 minutes. I’m sure most moms will agree with me on this one. So I was happy to find this recipe. This was Paula and Bobby Deen’s recipe I found on http://www.foodnetwork.com and I was impressed by how simple it was. Sorry Paula and Bobby, but now, I own this recipe. I saw. I cooked. I conquered.

I served this on my brother’s birthday and they loved it.

Lime-butter Salmon

Ingredients:

  • Salmon fillets (about 3-4 oz. each)
  • Lime juice (about 4 limes)
  • Butter (1 stick)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
You will need:
  • An outdoor or stove-top grill
  • brush
  • small saucepan
Here’s how:
  1. In a small saucepan, melt butter and squeeze lemon juice in.
  2. Meanwhile, season salmon fillets on both side with salt and pepper. Place fillets on the grill. Grill each side for about 2-4 minutes depending on the desired doneness. Brush fish fillets with lime-butter while grilling.
Sesame Asparagus
Ingredients:
  • Asparagus ( I like to peel mine)
  • Garlic (minced)
  • Butter (about 4 tbsp)
  • Olive oil
  • Sesame oil
  • Sesame seeds ( I used white ones)
You will need:
  • Tongs
  • Huge pot
  • Huge bowl filled with ice water (i use a mixing bowl)
  • Medium or large skillet
Here’s how:
  1. Blanch asparagus in boiling water for 15 seconds. (Trust me, 15 seconds is all you need). Fish asparagi asparagus out with tongs and place in ice-water bath.
  2. In a saucepan, drizzle olive oil, place butter and saute garlic. Once butter is melted, pour in about 1 tbsp of sesame seeds and toss asparagus in. Drizzle with sesame oil. This shouldn’t take longer than 5 minutes.
Serving suggestions:
You can plate the fish and asparagus individually but since I did a family dinner, I placed salmon fillets on a bed of rice and put slices of lime on top of each for a punch of color. I line asparagus in between two rows of fish. Serve and enjoy!
Wine pairing:
I would say Reisling because it’s my favorite white wine but a nice chilled glass of California Pinot Gris will work as well.

3 thoughts on “Grilled Lime-butter Salmon w/ Sesame Asparagus

  1. Paula does have good recipes. Salmon and asparagus just seem to go together. I recently did a post similar to yours that you might enjoy also.

    • Yes, Paula is awesome. I am yet to discover more of her creations. I am just getting started with this whole food business- the cooking part that is. I looked at your site and it seems like it’s a good source for meals and recipes.

      Thanks for dropping by!🙂

Leave a Reply

