Pan-seared Salmon in Onion-Cream Sauce: a lesson learned

This was a flop of disastrous proportions. Just imagine if I never gave it a test drive and just went right ahead the night of my brother’s birthday. Ugh! It gives me the shivers just thinking about it.

Don’t get me wrong, the fish is good and the sauce was great, just don’t put them together. I thought I could use the onion cream sauce to complement my fish. uhm…FAIL!

Where did I go wrong? One too many sprigs of rosemary in the cream mix. Or maybe because it really should’ve been yellow onions as opposed to spanish? What’s the difference, really? Anyway, I figured the sauce would’ve worked but I’ll hold off on the rosemary next time. Oh i love rosemary, just not with the cream sauce and most definitely not with the fish. I’ll try garlic next time. Meanwhile, I’ll stick to citrus (lime and lemon), butter, garlic and salt and pepper to amp up my fish.

I will leave the recipe and maybe you can give it your own twist, give it a shot on those days that call for a fish.  And maybe help me as to how I could’ve made it better. I love cooking but quite obviously, I still have a lot to learn. So I’m willing to hear from you.

Onion and Rosemary Cream Sauce:

  • 3 large yellow onions
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 3 sprigs of Rosemary, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Olive oil
Here’s how:
  1. Preheat oven to 425 F
  2. Cut top and bottom off onions then cut into half crosswise. (leave the peel)
  3. In a roasting pan, line the onions and pour stock over and around the onions.
  4. Drizzle olive oil, season with salt and pepper and chopped Rosemary. (recipe requires 3 sprigs but I think a psrig or even half is enough, and try garlic instead of this.)
  5. Place pan in oven and cook uncovered for an hour or until liquid is reduced to half.

Take pan out of oven and pour heavy cream. cook for another 30 minutes or until the sauce thickens. (we want nappe consistency)

nappe consistency. sauce coats spoon and creates well defined gap when you run your finger through.

Pan-seared Salmon:

  • Salmon fillet (about 4 oz. a piece)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil
Here’s how:
  1. Preheat oven to 425 F
  2. Place a medium skillet on medium high heat. Drizzle with olive oil. Wait until hot.
  3. Place salmon in pan (skin side up if not skinless). Cook for 3-4 minutes then turn. cook for another 3-4 minutes.
  4. place fish on a baking sheet and finish cooking in oven for about another 5-8 minutes.

You want to create a crust when you sear. That to me is perfect.

One thought on “Pan-seared Salmon in Onion-Cream Sauce: a lesson learned

  1. Pingback: Baked Lemon & Garlic-butter Salmon-redemption «

Leave a Reply

