Goat cheese and tomato-basil skewers

This is one of the appetizers I’ll be serving for my brother’s birthday when I go to New Jersey in July. I picked this recipe for its simplicity, time-friendly preparation and the rave reviews it received on Brian Boitano’s page in foodnetwork.com. I decided to give it a test drive before my brother’s birthday and it’s a good thing I did. It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. I guess I really didn’t know what to expect since I haven’t tried this dish before. But the idea in my head was the complementing flavors coming from the cheese and tomatoes and basil. However, it was anything but complementary. The goat cheese was too powerful and the sun-dried tomatoes are too robust. And I don’t even know what to think about the basil. The only thing that went right was the pistachio. It dulled down the 2 overpowering flavors coming from the cheese and tomatoes.

An acquired taste maybe? I don’t know. The texture of the sun-dried tomato wasn’t too appealing either. It was too leathery. Anyway, I decided to give it my own take the day of my brother’s birthday. I will use mozzarella cheese that has a milder flavor and a more velvety texture. I shall complement it with cherry tomatoes for a burst of flavor and tartness. I will keep the basil leaves and crushed pistachio nuts for visual appeal if not for the taste.

But don’t take my word for it. Here are the ingredients if you want to try it.

  • 1 log goat cheese
  • 20 pcs. sun dried tomatoes
  • 20 leaves of basil
  • crushed pistachio nuts- about 1/2 lb.

Cut the goat cheese into 4, lengthwise then into 5  crosswise. This should make 20 balls. It helps if the goat cheese is a little chilled. Brian’s tip about dipping the knife in hot water each time you cut doesn’t work. Trust me. Then ball each piece and roll it in a bowl of crushed pistachios. Fold sun-dried tomatoes in half and sandwich basil leaf in between. Skewer all ingredients. That’s it. it’s really easy.

You decide what it tastes like. I wish to hear from you. It makes for good food shots, though. Don’t you think?😉

Leave a Reply

