Food: Scallops & Citrus Salad

 

Around this time last year, I was already busy planning Thanksgiving dinner. But it’s a little different here in New Jersey. I don’t think it’s ready for fall. I went to the local farmer’s market to grab me a bag of brown rice. But you know how it is. My eyes started wandering around and I saw nice and plump cherry tomatoes and on the opposite side were the freshest baby arugulas. I immediately grabbed both and got the most summer-y menu in my head cooking up. As soon as I saw those crisp arugula babies, I immediately knew what I was going to make. So I grabbed the nicest grapefruit there was and stepped to the fish market next door and grabbed me a pound of scallops. I was a happy girl. I got all I need and I headed home.

Inspired by one of my favorite chefs, Anne Burrell, here’s a party served in a plate. I must say that this recipe didn’t disappoint. I don’t know how anyone could possibly not like this. Unless you are legitimately allergic to shellfish and if you are, I already feel bad for you.

This dish is super easy. I was surprised by how quick I finished “Supreme-ing” the citrus. I used to be so intimidated by how tedious it seemed. A sharp knife should do the trick. The only problem I had was browning the scallops. It wasn’t the best sear. As a matter of fact, I think I am the first to ever steam scallops in oil. I blame on the stove. hehe… Anyway, it all still worked out. I hope everyone tries this. Chef Anne was right. You don’t have to be a professional chef to cook like one.

Scallops with Citrus Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 LB. Sea Scallops
  • 2 C. Baby Arugula
  • 1 Grapefruit, supremed
  • 2 Medium-size Oranges, supremed
  • 1 Small Red Onion (or about 1/4 Large Red Onion), julienned
  • 1/4-1/2 C. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 TBSP. Honey
  • S&P to taste
  • Pepper flakes to taste

Here’s how:

  1. Season scallops with salt and pepper on either side and brown on both sides.
  2. Meanwhile, supreme your fruits and place in a bowl.
  3. Squeeze out juice from the pith into a separate bowl. Whisk in olive oil in a steady stream. Add honey and salt and pepper flakes. This is your dressing.
  4. Place arugula in a huge bowl and drizzle with dressing. Gently hand toss. Add onions and fruits.
  5. Plate salad and top with scallops. Drizzle more olive oil.
  6. ENJOY!

Look at all those colors. Doesn’t it remind you of summer? I love fall but I’ll find every excuse to make this salad. Now I know why Chef Anne’s such “a happy girl.” Isn’t that here line? I really love her- spikey hair and all her quirky abbreviations.

Anyway, I hope you guys try this. If it’s not too fall-y yet. Try it. I know this is an appetizer but this could be a meal in itself. Yummy!!! The bottle and stemware were props. I had to go to church. But after the service, I enjoyed it with reckless abandon. ;) What? Oh it’s Monday tomorrow. Oh well.

 

4 thoughts on “Food: Scallops & Citrus Salad

  1. Hi Janis! I don’t really love vegetables but your post made me feel that they are as good and heavenly as meat. hahaha The carnivore in me is suddenly turned to an herbivore. :D

    • What?!?!? You don’t like vegetables? I can’t live without vegetables. Anyway, I’m glad that this post has encouraged you to try them out. You should. There’s a lot of ways to enjoy greens. My favorite part is the crunch. You can never get that from any other food. Also, it’s very easy to dress greens up. They go with almost anything- cheese, fruits, chips, meat. You should give it a go. Not just this recipe but any other veggie recipes for that matter. :)

Leave a Reply

