Roasted Chicken w/ Carrots Roasted in Brown Butter

I bought this roaster chicken with no agenda in mind. If you know me at all, you would know that I freak out when there’s no food in my fridge. A half empty container of milk or an almost empty tray of eggs would prompt for a quick run to the store. I panic when there’s nothing to prepare, even if it means just putting together a pack of instant ramen noodles. I always, ALWAYS need to have something in my fridge, freezer and pantry. And this chicken counts as one of my staple food in my inventory. It’s universal, versatile, and easy to prepare. I didn’t even have to make a special trip to the groceries for the embellishments. I just scoured my fridge and used whatever seemed to make sense. I just got lucky that the herbs stayed fresh in the fridge for me but I would have been equally happy even with just salt and pepper. For this, I’ll just call it roasted chicken. I don’t know what else would be more fitting than that.

Now you see what I mean when I said whatever made sense. I’m surprised how the sage held up for that long in my fridge. I’m not complaining though

Ingredients:

  • Whole roaster chicken, cleaned
  • 3 carrots, cleaned, peeled and cut to 1” chunks
  • 1 medium onion cut in half
  • 1 head garlic cut in half
  • butter, room temperature
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • rosemary, roughly chopped, leaving some for seasoning the chicken
  • S&P
  • 1 orange, cut in half
  • olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. herbes de provence and another tbsp for seasoning the chicken.

Here’s how:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Create herbed butter by mixing butter, rosemary, garlic, herbes de provence and some S&P together.
  2. Pat chicken dry. Create pockets by carefully and gently lifting the skin off the breast. Spoon herbed butter into the pocket and gently work the butter underneath the skin by massaging your fingers on the breast until the butter is evenly spread out.
  3. Brush the chicken with olive oil and season with S&P and some rosemary, herbes de provence and garlic.
  4. In a cast-iron skillet or roasting pan, place orange, garlic, onion and sliced carrrots. Place chicken on top and roast covered for about 1 1/2 hrs. or until juices run clear. Uncover and roast for another 30-45 minutes or until the chicken is golden brown.

If you want to make some gravy, remove the chicken and herbs and aromatics from skillet. Drain drippings into a measuring cup. Place skillet stove top and cook in medium heat. Add about a tablespoon of flour as you scrape off the brown bits from the bottom. Once the left over dripping and flour coagulates, add drippings back and some chicken stock. Keep whisking and adding stock until you reach desired consistency. Add S&P to taste.

For the side, I roasted some carrots in brown butter. It’s delicious but I think it would’ve been the same if I just straight up threw my carrots in the oven drizzled with olive oil and some salt. It really didn’t make much of a difference to me. Anyway, for the sake of this post, here’s the recipe and please, by all means, try to make this so you can tell me how it came out.

Ingredients:

  • Carrots, peeled and cleaned
  • half stick of butter, sliced
  • sage (optional)

Here’s how:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
  2. In a heavy-bottom skillet, melt butter in medium low heat until it clarifies and turns brown. Remove from ehat immediately to terminate the cooking process and to avoid burning.
  3. On a parchment paper, place carrots in a single layer and drizzle with brown butter and top with sage. Make a sealed pouch and roast for about 20 minutes. Open pouch and roast the carrots uncovered for another 5-10 minutes or until a little brown.
  4. Serve.

You have to watch your butter as it browns. Be patient. At first I thought it would never brown. It was just clarified butter. The recipe I got it from said there are brown specks at the bottom of the skillet as your butter browns and that’s true. Keep whisking as you’re melting your butter. As soon as you see brown specks at the bottom, whisk the butter and remove from heat. I think I burned mine as I turned up the heat from being too antsy for my butter to brown.

 

8 thoughts on “Roasted Chicken w/ Carrots Roasted in Brown Butter

  1. I’m still ‘chicken’ about roasting a whole chicken. I always have them cut up first. I’m sure they taste the same but a whole chicken looks so much more impressive, doesn’t it? ;)

    Also, I like the way you style your food photos. Really. It makes one want to dig in and take a bite, as opposed to sitting back and admiring the ‘artistry’ of it. :)

    • Thanks, thanks! Ako rin, mejo hesitant nung una mag roast ng whole chicken. But all you have to do is to keep them in the oven for as long as it takes to cook it. When the juices run clear, that’s when it’s done. Add some extra half hour to brown it, then you should be ok. I also made sure it’s room temperature before I popped it in the oven. But cutting the chicken up first is a wise thing to do. I probably would’ve done the same if I didn’t have the luxury of time.

      But thanks once again. :)

Leave a Reply

