My Christmas Round-up

I wish everyone had a meaningful holiday filled with gratitude and love. It’s been a rough year for everyone, but I know somewhere, there’s a glimmer of hope. I think that’s what keeps this season alive. We have been through situations that have trodden us down. We could have succumbed to it. But, in spite of all the setbacks and misfortunes, here we are ready to put everything behind and look forward to a bright, new year.

This year, it’s just me and my Una celebrating Christmas. The closest I could get to my relatives is through text and skype. I guess, it was ok. It gave us a chance to start new traditions that we can call ours that Una can look forward to in future Christmases.

Here’s Unakin topping our humble Christmas tree with our star. I have always wanted to try out a fresh tree but never came around it. I love this tree, though. I bought it from the dollar store when I was pregnant with Una. I remember lugging that huge box in downtown Rochester to the bus stop then to my house. I hope I’m not jinxing myself but it’s quite impressive that it still got all its lights. Not bad for a bargain tree.

We baked chocolate chip cookies on Christmas eve. I think this would be a nice tradition to start. It was our first time making cookies from scratch and it wasn’t half bad. :)

We left snacks for Santa. What’s your take on this whole Santa deal? Some of my friends from other countries detest the idea of lying to their kids. I think it’s fun. But I don’t think Una really cares. She knows Santa comes around Christmas time but she knows that her presents don’t come from him.

Then it was dinner time. I didn’t cook this time. My mom who came a week earlier for Una’s ballet recital brought Pinoy food from New Jersey. So I was pretty much covered. Una and I had Dinuguan, Adobo and Ginataang Langka that night.

Then she opened her presents. What’s Christmas without presents. In the Philippines, we open our presents on Christmas eve and I try to observe that tradition here.

Christmas day, we went to a couple of friends’ houses. We had dinner at Andrea’s and had some really good jamaican grub. Una opened some presents, too. In a way, it’s somewhat similar to “pamamasko” and I loved the familiarity it brought about. We capped the night at Taliah’s mom’s house. It was fun. We had dessert and we opened more presents. Then a dance showdown came about. We played a really intense “Just Dance” Kinect game. I barely made it through one song. whew!

And that wraps up our Christmas. It was quiet and simple but still very meaningful. I am very blessed and thankful to our lord, Jesus for giving us this holiday. 

From our family to yours, Happy Christmas and a Prosperous New Year! 

One thought on “My Christmas Round-up

Leave a Reply

