Cranberry Sauce

Catching up on thanksgiving recipes. I’m so sorry. I don’t think I took a picture of the actual sauce. Or maybe I did. If so, I’ll look at my camera and post it right away.

But here are 2 of the 3 ingredients for a basic cranberry sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cranberries – frozen or fresh (i bought fresh ones and froze them, hah!)
  • Lemon zest
  • Lemon juice or orange juice (about 2 lemons or 1 orange)
  • 1/2 Cup white sugar
  • 2/3 Cup dark brown sugar

Here’s how:

Throw all ingredients in a sauce pan. Quick stir, wait until the cranberries pop. You’ll really hear them pop. Turn heat off after 10-15 minutes. The sauce will continue to thicken as it cools down. Bam! Cranberry sauce. :)

Some people don’t like cranberry chunks in their palates. I’ve come to realize people here are very sensitive to texture. You can puree this if you wish. This is just a basic cranberry sauce. You can throw in cinnamon shavings or add chili flakes and chipotle to jazz it up. Of course, whatever is complementary to your meat works.

You will find some recipes where it says compote, relish etc. Up to this day, I still don’t know the difference. You can find out and share the answer with me. :)

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Sauce

Leave a Reply

